DTU logo

Organization profile
The Technical University of Denmark (DTU) is one of Europe’s foremost technical universities with more than 1600 scientific staff members and 1000 Ph.D. students.

The Department of Energy Conversion and Storage (DTU Energy) was created on January 1, 2012, building on existing DTU world class expertise in fuel cells (solid oxide fuel cells and polymer electrolyte fuel cells), electrolysis, polymer solar cells, batteries, hydrogen storage and related technologies. The new department brings together research groups from the Risø DTU National Laboratory for Sustainable Energy and the Department of Chemistry.

DTU Energy has more than 20 years of experience in solid oxide fuel cell (SOFC) research and advanced functional ceramics. Currently more than 60 persons work directly on SOFC related projects. Since 2001 a close co-operation with the Danish company Topsoe Fuel Cell A/S has been in place, with the purpose of developing commercial SOFCs. DTU Energy facilities include a pre-pilot production line with a capacity of several tens of thousands of cells per year. Currently, research focuses on three cell types, metal supported cells for operation at 650 °C, anode supported cells for operation at 750-850 °C, and thin film cells for low temperature operation.

Project contribution
DTU has two major roles in the METSAPP project - as project coordinator and as WP leader for the cell development. DTU is also involved in electrochemical, corrosion and mechanical testing.

More info: www.dtu.dk/english and www.energy.dtu.dk/english